What I’ve Learned So Far

01Jun10

First of all, I learned that I will, in fact, get up at 6:00 in the morning to do yoga.  I did just that today.  Wow and Yay!

A lot of people have asked me, half-jokingly I think, what I have learned so far.  And so far I have learned that two functions of the body are very, very important:  digestion and breathing.

Both are things we take for granted, right?  But I never realized exactly how convoluted and how extensive the digestive process is.  And it’s linked to the respiratory process, because once we take in oxygen it helps move the nutrients around the blood stream and then we release waste in the form of carbon dioxide.  You knew this already, right?   Yeah, me too, but I sort of forgot.

All of this is very important and BREATHING is something we do wrong all the darn time.  One of the books I am reading is talking about how when we are babies, we pretty much breathe perfectly.  Because mostly what we do is breathe and cry and eat and nap.  As adults, we wear restrictive clothing and sit in restrictive postures and we breathe too fast when we are stressed out or angry or overly emotional in any form.  We have to make a conscience effort to do something we once did naturally–breathing calmly.  Not breathing calmly or correctly has been shown to create strain on our heart, increase our blood pressure, and create a wealth of other health-related issues.

So when people ask me what I’ve learned so far, it’s that yoga is going to help me breathe better and digest better and that is going to help me live and feel better.

2 Responses to “What I’ve Learned So Far”

  1. 1 Sizzle

    I forget to breathe all day long. Like really truly breathe. Yoga is a great reminder!

  2. 2 Rebecca

    Just catching up on your blog…. this post makes me think of the Jewish prayer said after going to the bathroom, in translation it is something like this:

    Blessed are you who formed us with wisdom and created within us many openings and many cavities. If but one of them were open that should be blocked or blocked that should be open it would be impossible to stand before You. Blessed is [name of deity], who creates all flesh to act wondrously.

    Digestion is essential to life.


Leave a Reply

