How I Found Yoga

26May10

Or, alternately, how yoga found me.

I’ve been thinking a lot about this story and I love telling it.  So lucky you! Here it is!

Back in 1999 (yes!) I was dealing with a lot of back pain from two different car accidents in the span of 2 years (neither was my fault, fyi).  The 2nd was brutal.  I mean, I was okay, but the wreck itself was ridiculous.  A guy on the highway stopped when he missed his exit. STOPPED.  And a four car pileup resulted.  I was over in the far left lane, but to avoid smashing everyone else to bits, a Winnebago swerved over to my lane and slammed into the side of my car, sending me spinning into the concrete  median.  The impact plus my attempts to turn the car around (tremendous force in my arms and upper back) caused me to sprain the muscles from my wrists up my arms and into my shoulders and back. Ouch!
Anyway, sometime in 1999 my boyfriend at the time bought me Bryan Kest’s Power Yoga on VHS.   Oh yeah, VHS.  I didn’t even have a yoga mat, or know what one was–I did yoga on the carpet in my apartment.  I loved it.  And it felt SO GOOD.  While Bryan Kest is very…west coast, and at times a little giggle-worthy, I still do his Power Yoga series (usually level 2 and sometimes 3, 1 if I need a breather).  Over 10 years later, look where that VHS tape brought me!



2 Responses to “How I Found Yoga”

  1. What a great story. Well, I mean obviously why you discovered yoga is horrible but I love that something good has come out of it. I can’t wait to read more about it!

  2. Wow, what a scary accident!


Leave a comment